People in Bio3 - Soft Matter

Reidar Lund

Associate Professor
Group leader for Bio3-Soft Matter Main Affiliation: Department of Chemistry, UiO. Other Affiliations: Hylleraas Centre for Quantum Molecular Sciences, Norwegian Centre for Molecular Medicine (NCCM) Contact Information: 22 85 55 08 / 909 14 138 Short biography Reidar Lund was born in Tromsø, Norway and received his Cand. Scient. Degree in Chemistry at the University of Oslo and obtained a PhD in Physical Chemistry from Forschungszentrum Jülich/University of Munster, Germany in 2004. He held postdoc appointments at Forschnungszentrum Jülich (DE), DIPC/CSIC//University of the Basque Country, San Sebastián (ES), and UC-Berkeley (US). Since 2016, he serves as Associative Professor at the Department of Chemistry, University of Oslo. In 2017 he was appointed as an Associate Researcher at the Norwegian Centre for Molecular Medicine (NCCM),  and in 2018 an Associate Researcher  at the Hylleraas Centre for Quantum Molecular Sciences. Research Interests The current research interests include self-assembly of synthetic and biological molecules, polymer gels, antimicrobial peptides, dynamics/kinetic processes in (biological) soft matter at equilibrium and outside equilibrium, drug delivery systems and development of scattering methods based on X-rays, neutrons and light.

Josefine Eilsø Nielsen

PhD Student

Main Affiliation: Department of Chemistry, UiO.
Contact Information:
+47 950 65 683

Josefine Eilsø Nielsen was born in Oslo, Norway, and graduated with a Master’s degree in Pharmacy from the University of Oslo in 2015. During her master project she worked with characterizing physical-chemical properties of hydrogels for the application of drug delivery in a collaboration between the SiteDel group at the School of Pharmacy and the Polymer research group at Chemistry Department. After she finished her masters she worked 1 year as a pharmacist in a pharmacy, and one year as a Scientific Officer at the Norwegian Medicines Agency. Now she holds a Doctoral Research Fellow position in Physical Chemistry in the Soft Matter group at the University of Oslo.

Research Interests
The current PhD project focuses on research into the microscopic mechanism of action of antimicrobial peptides and their interaction with model biomembranes. This includes investigating how antimicrobial peptides affect the structure of model membrane systems, as well as dynamical processes in the membranes. For this work she utilizes mainly small angle x-ray and neutron scattering methods as well as neutron reflectometry.

Nico König

PhD Student

Main Affiliation: Department of Chemistry, UiO.
Other Affiliations: Jülich Center for Neutron Science, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany
Contact Information:

Short biography
Born in Dortmund, Germany, I studied Physics at the local technical university, TU Dortmund University. During my bachelor studies I focused on Surface Physics, whereas my interest shifted to biophysics in my master project. I conducted synchrotron-based small-angle X-ray scattering studies on pharmaceutically relevant proteins in the group of Metin Tolan, in collaboration with Bayer AG in Leverkusen, for which I was granted a Master of Science in Physics degree. Now I hold a joint Doctoral Research Fellow position in Physical Chemistry at both University of Oslo and Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH.

Research Interests
My research project concerns molecular exchange kinetics in nanoscopic self-assembling systems like polymeric micelles and antimicrobial peptides. I investigate the influence of molecular architecture and crystallization phenomena on those exchange processes, particularly in mixed systems. To this end I mainly employ (time-resolved) small-angle neutron and X-ray scattering.

Victoria Ariel Bjørnestad

PhD Student

Contact info

Mobile phone: +47 94195496
Room: Ø 226
Visiting address: Sem Sælandsvei 26, 0371 Oslo, Norway.
Postal address: Postboks 1033 Blindern, 0315 Oslo, Norway.

Mirna Porobic

Master student

Main Affiliation: Department of Chemistry, UiO.
Contact Information:

Alumni/Former Members

  • Marlene Nham Andersen, Master student, 2020-2022.
  • Kari Borgos Almåsvold, Master student, 2020-2022.
  • Nico König, PhD student, 2017-2021
  • Josefine Eilsoe Nielsen, PhD student, 2017-2021
  • Cheng Cao, Post.Doc., 2020-2021
  • Mikkel Killingmoe Christensen, Master student, 2018-2020.
  • Mirna Porobic, Master student, 2017-2019
  • Matthias Amann, PostDoc, 2017-2019
  • Mikkel Killingmoe Christensen, Master student, 2017-2019
  • Synne Myhre, Master student, 2017-2019.
  • Jonas Adolfsen, Master student, 2014-2016.